Search the Collection:

Artwork copyright Joanne Hammer. Photo courtesy of Washington State Arts Commission, 2024.

Art in Northeastern Washington

These artworks in the State Art Collection are located in the Northeastern Washington counties of Ferry, Stevens, Pend Oreille, Lincoln, and Spokane.

Most of these artworks are located where students have regular access to them. This group includes twenty-seven school districts -- from the large Spokane Public Schools, to small school districts in Chewelah, Medical Lake, and Wilbur -- and everything in between. It also includes two colleges (Spokane Community College and Spokane Falls Community College), two universities (Eastern Washington University and Washington State University's Spokane campus), and numerous state agencies (such as the Spokane Readiness Center and the Department of Transportation).

When Washington State contributes to the construction of a new building such as a public school, college, university, or government building, one-half of one percent of the state’s cost is reserved for art. A local committee is formed to select artworks created especially for their buildings or campuses. Together the committee selects an artist from the ArtsWA Public Artist Roster, reviews the artist’s design, and approves the final proposal. All of this ensures that the artworks are embedded within our public spaces and relevant to the local communities.