ArtsWA board meeting at the Tacoma Glass Museum
Commission meetings are held four times a year in various locations around the state. They are open to the public. Photo by ArtsWA.

Board of Commissioners

Twenty-three commissioners make up ArtsWA’s Board of Commissioners. Nineteen are appointed to three-year terms by the Governor. Four commissioners are appointed by the Legislature (two from the House, two from the Senate). Terms generally begin with the first meeting of the fiscal year, which takes place in August.

Each new commissioner receives orientation training that introduces them to ArtsWA programs and policies. This training includes a series of webinars and an in-depth information toolkit.

We encourage board participation that reflects Washington’s artistic, geographic, and culture diversity. If you are interested in joining the ArtsWA board, please apply online at the Governor’s Boards and Commission website.

Meet Our Board

FY 2022 Executive Committee
  • Chair: Justin Raffa, Benton County, Eastern Region
  • 1st Vice Chair: Rosanna Sharpe, Grant county, Central Region
  • 2nd Vice Chair: Catherine Nueva España, King County, Northwest Region
  • At Large: Linley Logan, Kitsap County, Northwest Region
  • At Large: Faaluaina Pritchard, Pierce County, Southwest Region
  • Advocacy Chair: Charlie Robin, Yakima County, Central Region
Advocacy Committee
  • Charlie Robin, Advocacy Committee Chair
  • Claudia Castro Luna
  • Dr. Kelvin Frank
  • Wesley Jessup
  • Linley Logan
  • Jasmine Mahmoud
  • Monica Miller

2022 Board Meetings

Tuesday, February 1: 9 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Wednesday, April 13 (special meeting): 9 – 10 a.m.

Thursday, May 5: 9 a.m. – 4 p.m.

Wednesday, June 8 (special meeting): 10 – 11:15 a.m.

Tuesday, August 9: 12:30 p.m.- 4:15 p.m.

Wednesday, August 10: 8:30 a.m.  – 12:30 p.m.

Thursday, November 3: 9:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.

For more information about upcoming Board meetings, please click here