ArtsWA board meeting at the Tacoma Glass Museum
Commission meetings are held four times a year in various locations around the state. They are open to the public. Photo by ArtsWA.

Board of Commissioners

Twenty-three commissioners make up ArtsWA’s Board of Commissioners. Nineteen are appointed to three-year terms by the Governor. Four commissioners are appointed by the Legislature (two from the House, two from the Senate). Terms generally begin with the first meeting of the fiscal year, which takes place in August.

Each new commissioner receives orientation training that introduces them to ArtsWA programs and policies. This training includes a series of webinars and an in-depth information toolkit.

We encourage board participation that reflects Washington’s artistic, geographic, and culture diversity. If you are interested in joining the ArtsWA board, please apply online at the Governor’s Boards and Commission website.

Meet Our Board

Executive Committee
  • Diane Martindale – Chair
  • Justin Raffa – 1st Vice Chair
  • Rosanna Sharpe – 2nd Vice Chair
  • Monica Miller – At Large
  • Sheree Wen – At Large
  • Linley Logan – Advocacy Chair
Advocacy Committee
  • Linley Logan (Chair)
  • Robin Avni
  • Catherine Nueva España
  • Dr. Kelvin Frank
  • Jasmine Mahmoud
  • Justin Raffa
  • Charlie Robin
  • Judy Tuohy
  • Sheree Wen

2021 Board Meetings

Tuesday, February 9: 9 a.m. – 12 p.m.

Tuesday, May 4: 9 a.m. – 12 p.m.

Tuesday, June 15: 10 – 10:30 a.m.

Wednesday, August 4: 9 a.m.- 12 p.m.

Tuesday, November 9: 9 a.m. – 12 p.m.

For more information about upcoming Board meetings, please click here